Darko’s Interests Macedonia: Ohrid

imagesNQKR7LZFimagesHi guys its Darko again, this is my 4th post! Anyways lets move on. Today I will talk about a very popular city in Macedonia. Its called Ohrid. Its a lake city. Its population  is 42,033 (2002 census). Ohrid has a fortress made by Tsar Samuil I. He had an empire that stretched from Tirana in Albania to Bucharest in Romania. Also there are the saints Clement of Ohrid and Methodius that went to Moravia and Bohemia (Modern day Czech Republic and Slovakia) to Christianize and literate the Slavs. Ohrid has around 360 monasteries. Macedonia’s main university is in Ohrid. Also Ohrid has Macedonia’s largest lake. Macedonia has only 3 lakes: Lake Ohrid, Lake Prespa and Lake Dojran all named after cities and towns. I hope you like of what I wrote about Ohrid. See you in my next post. Bye!images d

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *